About Us

Learn about the MCBA.....

Who We Are| Officers and Council Members | MCBA By Laws

Who We Are

Established in 1899, the Middlesex County Bar Association (MCBA) is one of the oldest, continuously operating, county bar associations in the country. The MCBA is a voluntary membership association open to all attorneys who practice in Middlesex County. The MCBA has several hundred members and maintains offices at the Middlesex Superior Court in Woburn.

The MCBA is governed by its Executive Officers and Council, all of whom are elected by the general membership. The association’s day-to-day operations are run by its Executive Director, Diane Verner. The MCBA’s facilities include conference rooms for meetings and depositions at the Middlesex Superior Court. Members also have access to a telephone, fax and photocopier.

In addition, the MCBA offers a variety of services to its members including: Lawyer Referral Service; free membership in Working Advantage – a provider of discounted entertainment activities; group rates on insurance; Annual Banquet; Law Day Celebration; Bench/ Bar Meetings and periodic continuing legal education seminars. The MCBA also operates several public service programs including: the Middlesex Probate & Family Court Conciliation Program; the weekly Free Legal Information Clinic; a low cost ADR Program; annual Good Citizenship Awards to outstanding Middlesex County high school students and Suitability – a program providing gently worn business attire to low income adults.


Officers and Council Members

Alfred Farese III, President
Mark Mulligan, President-Elect
Charles H. Riley, Vice-President
Sallie Vallely, Treasurer
Stephanie Romano, Secretary

Diane M. Verner

Maureen A. Lombardo, Past President


Barry Altman
Michael E. Brangwynne
Susan Costa
Michael C. Cullen
Kevin Davis
Mary Ellen Donovan
Kathryn M. Fallon
Leo S. Fama, II

Noah Goodman
David Lucas
Charles Lyons
John McNaught, Jr. 
Karen Stuntz

Alexandre A. Adams
Joseph A. Amoroso, Jr.
Thomas Belmonte
Robert J. Bonsignor
Frank J. Ciano
Brian M. Cullen
William H. Diamond
Anthony R. Di Pietro
Lucille R. Di Pietro
Hon. John P. Donnelly
Damien Gillietti
Lloyd D. Godson
Martin Kane, II

Maureen A. Lombardo
Margaret C. Mahoney (1933-2014)
James A. McAvoy, Jr.
Edward D. McCarthy
Joseph W. Monahan, III
Hon. James J. Nixon, Jr.
Roy Papalia (1910-1998)
Hon. Dominic J. Paratore
Terrence Parker
Philip Privitera
Anthony R. Rizzo (1929-1999)
Hon.Camille F. Sarrouf, Jr.
Jordan L. Shapiro
Hon. William H. Sullivan
Robert Saltzman


MCBA By Laws

Download a copy of the Middlesex County Bar Association By Laws.

Middlesex County Bar Association | 200 Trade Center, 3rd Floor, Rm 329 | Woburn MA 01801 | 781-939-2797 | FAX 781-933-1291